Welcome to GoDMV.com’s Ohio DMV Information
Guide. From this page you can choose from our menu of Ohio online
driver services or learn about a specific topic related to Ohio
Our Ohio DMV Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) contain the following sections:
Choose from the menu now or read below for our Ohio Driver Frequently Asked Questions.
- Ohio Driver License Information
- Ohio Vehicle Registration
- Ohio Vehicle Title Information
The DMV, or “Department of Motor Vehicles,” is often the generic term used for the agency that enforced driver license laws in a State. The agency responsible for administering driver license laws in Ohio is the State of Ohio Department of Public Safety, Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (often known as simply the Ohio BMV). The agency responsible for administering registration and car title laws in Ohio is also the State of Ohio Department of Public Safety, Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (the Ohio BMV).
Ohio DMV Driver’s License FAQs
- What agency in Ohio provides driver licenses?
- What are the age requirements and restrictions for getting an Ohio driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?
- What documents are necessary to obtain an Ohio driver’s permit or driver’s license?
- What tests must I take to obtain an Ohio learner’s permit or driver’s license? What if I already have an out-of-state license?
- Where do I take these required exams in Ohio for my driver license?
1. What agency in Ohio provides driver licenses?
In Ohio, the Ohio Department of Public Safety, Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, often known simply as the Ohio BMV, provides driver licenses.
To obtain your license, go to the office of the Deputy Registrar of the Ohio BMV near you.
2. What are the age requirements and restrictions for getting an Ohio driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?
In Ohio, the Ohio BMV provides driving privileges under the age of 18 in stages:
Temporary Permit. To obtain an Ohio temporary permit from the Ohio BMV, you must be 15 years and 6 months of age, and the Ohio temporary permit will be valid for one year. Restrictions include:
- Permit holder must be accompanied by an eligible adult (parent, guardian, legal custodian, licensed driver age 21 or older acting “in loco parentis” or licensed driving instructor
- Eligible adult must hold a valid driver license and sit in the front passenger seat
- Permit holders under 18 may not drive from 12am until 6 am unless accompanied by a parent, guardian or legal custodian who holds a valid license
. To obtain a Probationary License from the Ohio BMVyou must:
- be at least 16 years old
- have completed the driver training certification requirement, which means complete (a) 50 hours of driving with a parent or guardian, which must include 10 hours of nighttime driving, and (b) 24 hours of classroom instruction, and (c) 8 hours of behind the wheel training
- have held an Ohio temporary permit from the Ohio BMV for at least 6 months
- As a permit holder, you must have completed an Ohio BMV driving and maneuverability test
- Under the age of 17, may not operate motor vehicle with more than one person who is not a family member as a passenger unless accompanied by the license holder’s parent, guardian or legal custodian
- Between 17 and 18 years of age, may not drive from 1am to 5 am unless accompanied by parent or guardian, with certain exceptions for emergencies, or driving to or from a school activity or work
- Under 17, may not drive from 12 am until 6 am unless accompanied by a parent or guardian with certain exception fro emergencies, or driving to or from a school activity or work
- Certain additional restrictions apply to probationary license holders under age 17 who are convicted of committing a moving violation during the first 6 months of having the license
The Ohio Probationary License from the Ohio BMV is valid until you turn 18, when it will convert to a full Ohio driver license with the Ohio BMV.
3. What documents are necessary to obtain a Ohio driver’s permit or driver’s license?
Documents required by the Ohio BMV to obtain your first license include:
- Proof of age, identity and social security number (Ohio BMV website lists acceptable proof)
- Completed application (with deputy registrar of Ohio BMV)
- If you are under 18, the Ohio BMV requires that you have your application co-signed by a parent or legal guardian at the time you apply at the time you apply (they must also present acceptable documentation to verify identification).
You must also pay a fee to the Ohio BMV to get your Ohio driver license.
For the probationary license, you should also be prepared to provide (a) an affidavit to prove you have completed your 50 hour requirement, and (b) proof of classroom and driving instruction (driver education certificate)
4. What tests must I take to obtain an Ohio learner’s permit or driver’s license? What if I already have an out-of-state license?
The Ohio BMV requires first time licensees to take a:
• Written exam
• Vision exam
• Driving and maneuverability test (for probationary license)
Note: If you have a valid out-of–state license already, the Ohio BMV generally waives the driving and maneuverability test.
5. Where do I take these required exams in Ohio for my driver license?
You may take these exams at the Ohio State Highway Patrol drive license exam station near you. Once you pass your exams, you may return to the Ohio Deputy Registrar office to obtain your license.
Ohio DMV Vehicle Registration FAQs
- What is an Ohio motor vehicle registration?
- When must I register my motor vehicle in Ohio?
- Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in Ohio?
- What are the prerequisites for registering a vehicle in Ohio?
- Must I have my vehicle inspected in Ohio?
1. What is an Ohio motor vehicle registration?
All vehicles owned by Ohio residents must be registered with the State of Ohio.
2. When must I register my motor vehicle in Ohio?
You should get your vehicle titled as soon as possible after moving to the State of Ohio.
3. Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in Ohio?
In Ohio, you may have your vehicle registered at the local deputy registrar license agency.
4. What are the prerequisites for registering a vehicle in Ohio?
In Ohio, you must first have your vehicle titled in Ohio to obtain vehicle registration.
5. Must I have my vehicle inspected in Ohio?
Yes, Ohio requires that your motor vehicle be inspected to obtain an Ohio motor vehicle title and registration.
Ohio DMV Vehicle Title FAQs
- Does Ohio require my vehicle to be titled?
- Where do I get an Ohio certificate of title?
- Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in Ohio?
- What is the process to apply for a Ohio certificate of title from the Ohio DMV (also known as the Ohio BMV)?
1. Does Ohio require my vehicle to be titled?
Yes, the State of Ohio requires that you have your vehicle titled.
2. Where do I get an Ohio certificate of title?
You may have your vehicle titled in Ohio at the local clerk of courts, auto title office.
3. Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in Ohio?
Yes, you must disclose the odometer reading when titling your vehicle in Ohio. The new Ohio Certificate of Title provides the necessary statement of the reverse side of the title.
4. What is the process to apply for a Ohio certificate of title from the Ohio DMV (also known as the Ohio BMV)?
The general process includes completing an application accompanied by:
- Previous owner’s assigned, notarized Certificate of Title
- Registration card
- Bill of Sale from non-titled state accompanied by Motor vehicle VIN Inspection Certificate
- Certificate of Title Fee and fees for recorded liens
- Inspection Fee
- Fee for the Clerk
- Odometer disclosure (on transferring ownership, seller must deliver assigned Certificate of Title indicating the correct milage)
Ohion auto dealers should provide you with new vehicle title within 30 days of purchase of the car. But if you buy from an individual, you should take responsibility for the transfer of the title.
The Ohio BMV website provides detailed information regarding the various Ohio vehicle titling procedures and requirements that may apply to you.