home add to favorites social bookmarks e-mail a friend lik to us
 
  What’s on the menu?
dmv information
 

You may also be
interested in:

Dmv Information
Traffic Schools
Drivers Education
Auto Insurance
Records Guide
Auto Guide
Auto Legal Guide
 
Sign up
Rate this
 
  Home > Dmv Information

Dmv Information

new york
Welcome to our Online Guide for the New York DMV, otherwise known as the NY Department of Motor Vehicles.  Here, you will find tons of helpful information about the New York DMV.  To get started, please choose an option from our menu now or read below for our New York frequently asked questions.  

TOP 3 New York Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes #2 Free Credit Report #3 Defensive Driving
  What are you looking for?
new york dmv information
new york traffic schools
new york drivers education
new york auto insurance
new york records guide

TOP 5

New York DMV Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes
#2 Free Credit Report
#3 Vehicle History Report
#4 Drivers Education
#5 Driver License And Id Guide
new york auto guide
new york auto legal guide
   
Didn't find what you were looking for?
SEARCH NOW:
 
 
 

New York DMV Frequently Asked Questions

Welcome to GoDMV.com’s New York DMV Information Guide.  From this page you can choose from our menu of New York online driver services or learn about a specific topic related to New York driving.

Our New York DMV Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) contain the following sections:

  • New York driver license information
  • New York vehicle registration
  • New York vehicle title issues
Choose from the menu now or read below for our State of New York Driver Frequently Asked Questions.

The DMV, or “Department of Motor Vehicles,” is often the generic term used for the agency that enforced driver license laws in a State.  The agency responsible for administering driver license laws in New York is the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (the New York DMV).  The agency responsible for administering registration and car title laws in New York is also New York Department of Motor Vehicles




State of New York DMV Driver’s License FAQs

  1. What agency in New York provides driver licenses?
  2. What are the age requirements for getting a New York driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?
  3. What are the restrictions for a New York driver’s permit or driver’s license?
  4. What tests must I take to obtain a New York learner’s permit or driver’s license?
  5. I recently moved to New York.  How long do I have to get a New York driver’s license?
  6. Must I notify the New York DMV about a change of address?  What if I want to change my name?

1.    What agency in New York provides driver licenses?

The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for providing driver licenses in New York State.

2.    What are the age requirements for getting a New York driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?

New York State has a graduated licensing law for drivers under the age of 18.

Learners Permit: You must be at least 16 years of age to obtain a learners permit in New York State.  After 6 months, you may take a road test and obtain a junior license.

At age 17, you can convert your license to a senior license with completion of a high school or college driver education course in New York State.

At age 18, your license will convert to a senior license even without the certificate of completion of the high school or college driver education course in New York State.

3.    What are the restrictions for a New York driver’s permit or driver’s license?

If you hold a learners permit, no matter what age, you are not permitted to drive:
  • In a DMV road test area
  • Unless accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 21 years old with a valid license for operating the type of vehicle you are driving
  • On a street within a park in New York City, or any bridge or tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority
  • On the Cross County, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River or Taconic State parkways in Westchester County

Rules Applicable to Junior Drivers (junior learner permit or junior driver license):
  • You are not permitted to drive with more than two passengers under the 21 years of old unless they are members of your immediate family, or your accompanying driver is your licensed parent, guardian, person "in loco parentis," driver education teacher or driving school instructor.
  • You and each passenger must wear a seat belt (one seat belt per person). All children under age 4 must ride in federally-approved child safety seats, or if also over 40 pounds in weight use an appropriate child restraint system such as a booster seat. Children under age 7 must use an appropriate child restraint system. Children more than four feet nine inches tall are allowed to use a seat belt and shoulder harness.
  • Your accompanying driver is the only passenger allowed in the front seat.
  • New York State will suspend for 60 days your junior permit, license, or privileges if you are convicted of committing a serious traffic violation (generally three points or more) or two other violations while you hold a junior permit or license.
  • New York State will revoke your junior permit, license, or privileges for 60 days if you are convicted of a serious violation (generally three points or more) or two other violations within the first six months after you receive your license or privileges back following a suspension or revocation.
  • A Class DJ license allows you to drive passenger cars and trucks with an unladen weight or a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,000 lbs. or less. A class DJ driver can drive a vehicle that tows another vehicle (for example a trailer) with a GVWR of 3,000 lbs. or less.
We encourage you to visit the New York State DMV website to review other specific restrictions that may apply.

4.    What tests must I take to obtain a New York learner’s permit or driver’s license?

To obtain a learner permit in New York State:
  • Vision test
  • Written test (unless you can show a driver education student certificate of completion)
  • If age 16, you will need a signed parent consent form; if age 17, you do not need a parent consent form if you can show a driver education student certificate of completion
  • You will also be required to show proof of identity and a social security card or alternative letter

Obtaining a New York State Drivers License:

  • Attend a pre-licensing course or high school or college drivers education course (you will be required to show a certificate)
  • Road test

5.    I recently moved to New York.  How long do I have to get New York driver’s license?

You must obtain a New York State Driver’s license from the NY DMV within 30 days of a resident of New York State.

6.    Must I notify the New York DMV about a change of address?  What if I want to change my name?

You must notify the New York State DMV within 10 days of moving of your change of address.

You must go to a local DMV office to change your name on all DMV records and documents in New York State.  In addition to the appropriate form, you must provide:
  • A NY DMV photo document or other proof of identity with your previous name (check NYS DMV website for appropriate proof)
  • A US marriage certificate, divorce document or other court papers issued in the United Stated to prove your new name (alternatively, you can bring a proof of identify that shows your new name �" check the NYS DMV website for appropriate proof)


New York State DMV Vehicle Registration FAQs

  1. What is a New York State motor vehicle registration?
  2. Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in New York State?
  3. What are the prerequisites for registering a vehicle in New York State?
  4. Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in New York State?
  5. What is the process for having my vehicle inspected when I register my vehicle with the New York State DMV?

1.    What is a New York State motor vehicle registration?

When you register your motor vehicle with a New York DMV office, you will be provided with (a) one or two plates for your vehicle (except in cases when the registration was transferred), (b) a registration sticker for your vehicle, and (c) a registration document that you should keep inside your vehicle.

2.    Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in New York State?

You may register your motor vehicle at a New York State DMV office.

3.    What are the prerequisites for registering an in-state vehicle I purchase in New York State?

To register your motor vehicle with the New York State DMV, you must be able to provide: (a) proof of ownership, (b) a completed odometer and damage disclosure statement, (c) a New York State insurance identification card, (d) proof of identity and date of birth, (e) completed New York State DMV vehicle registration application.  Also, you must show acceptable proof of sales tax payment, sales tax exemption or proof of the purchase price of the vehicle.

4.    Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in New York State?

Yes, you are required to provide proof of liability insurance to register your vehicle with the New York State DMV.  You must present the proof within 45 days of the effective date of the insurance coverage.  The New York State DMV does not accept out of state insurance documents.

5.    What is the process for having my vehicle inspected when I register my vehicle with the New York State DMV?

If you received your vehicle from an automobile dealer outside of New York State, you will receive an inspection extension sticker for your vehicle, which will allow you 10 days from the date of registration to have the vehicle inspected in New York State.  An inspection issued to a previous owner of the vehicle is not sufficient.

If you moved to New York State to become a resident, your out-of-state inspection will remain valid until it expires, or for one year following the date the vehicle is registered in New York State, whichever comes first.  Once the inspection has expired, you are required to have the vehicle inspected  in New York State. 


New York State DMV Vehicle Title FAQs

  1. Does New York State require my vehicle to be titled?
  2. Where do I go to have my motor vehicle titled in New York State?
  3. Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in New York State?
  4. What documents do I need to show to apply for a New York State certificate of title from the New York State DMV?

1.    Does New York State require my vehicle to be titled?

Yes, New York State requires your vehicle to be titled.

2.    Where do I go to have my motor vehicle titled in New York State?

You can go to the New York State DMV office to have your vehicle titled in New York State.

3.    Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in New York State?

Yes, you must disclose your odometer reading in the registration and title process in New York State and pay the title fee.

4.    When and where will I receive my New York State certificate of title from the New York State DMV?

You will not receive your new certificate of title at the New York State DMV office.  The New York State DMV will mail the certificate to you (the owner listed on the title certificate).  Generally, the title certificates are processed and mailed in less than 90 days.

 

 
  What are you looking for?
 

TOP 5

New York DMV Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes
#2 Free Credit Report
#3 Vehicle History Report
#4 Drivers Education
#5 Driver License And Id Guide
 
new york dmv information
new york traffic schools
new york drivers education
new york auto insurance
new york records guide
new york auto guide
new york auto legal guide
Didn't find what you were looking for?
SEARCH NOW:
 
  Web Design & Development by EuropeDesign Ltd. | Online Marketing by OM Interactive ,LLC.