Welcome to GoDMV.com’s New Jersey DMV Information
Guide. From this page you can choose from our menu of New Jersey online
driver services or learn about a specific topic related to Georgia
Our New Jersey DMV Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) contain the following sections:
• New Jersey Driver License Information
• New Jersey Vehicle Registration
• New Jersey Vehicle Title issues
Choose from the menu now or read below for our New Jersey Driver Frequently Asked Questions.
The DMV, or “Department of Motor Vehicles,” is often the generic term used for the agency that enforced driver license laws in a State. The agency responsible for administering driver license laws in New Jersey is the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. The agency responsible for administering registration and car title laws in New Jersey is also the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. As you will learn below, application for title in New Jersey can be done at one of the Motor Vehicle Commission (New Jersey MVC) locations throughout the State.
New Jersey DMV Driver’s License FAQs
- What agency in New Jersey provides driver licenses?
- What are the age requirements for getting a New Jersey driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?
- What are the restrictions for a New Jersey driver’s permit or driver’s license?
- What documents are necessary to obtain a New Jersey driver’s permit or driver’s license?
- What tests must I take to obtain a New Jersey learner’s permit or driver’s license?
- Must I notify the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission about a change of address? What if I want to change my name?
1. What agency in New Jersey provides driver licenses?
In New Jersey, the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, also known as the State of New Jersey MVC, provides driver licenses.
2. What are the age requirements for getting a New Jersey driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?
For first-time drivers under the age of 21 in New Jersey, there is a graduated driver license program. The New Jersey MVC has a three-stage process:
- Student learner’s permit (minimum age 16): there is a minimum 6 months of supervised driving
- Provisional license (minimum age 17): minimum one year of restricted but unsupervised driving
- Basic driver license: must be 18 years old
3. What are the restrictions for a New Jersey driver’s permit or driver’s license?
Student learner’s permit. The restrictions are:
- Must be accompanies by an adult supervising driver, at least 21 years old and licensed to drive for at least 3 years, in the front set
- No driving between 11:01 pm and 5 am (there are certain exceptions)
- Passenger must be from your household. You may only have one additional person from outside your household
- Seat belt worn at all times
- No use of cell phone, hand held video game or any other hand held electronic device
- You are not permitted to drive from 12:01 am to 5 am (there are certain exceptions)
- Passengers must be from your household. You may have only one additional person from outside your household
- No use of cell phones, hand held video game or any other had held electronic device
- Seat belt worn at all times
4. What is the process to obtain a New Jersey driver’s permit or driver’s license?
Student learners permit.
- Go to the New Jersey MVC agency
- Pass the following tests: (a) knowledge, (b) vision
- Present 4-point identification (civil birth certificate, US Passport, US Department of State birth certificate, US adoption papers, certificate of naturalization or certificate of citizenship)
- Present proof of enrollment in a driver training course
- Present signed letter with parental or guardian consent
- Pay fee
- Complete six-month supervised driving period
- Pass the 6-point ID verification
- Pass the New Jersey MVC road test
- Return after one year to get a basic driver license
5. What tests must I take to obtain a New Jersey learner’s permit or driver’s license?
- Student learner permit: knowledge and vision
- Provisional license: road test
New Jersey DMV Vehicle Registration FAQs
- What is a New Jersey motor vehicle registration?
- When must I register my motor vehicle in New Jersey?
- Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in New Jersey?
- What are the prerequisites for registering a vehicle in New Jersey?
- Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in New Jersey?
- Must I have my vehicle inspected in New Jersey?
1. What is a New Jersey motor vehicle registration?
In New Jersey, all vehicles are required to be registered before they may be operated in the State (a different set of rules apply if you are renewing registration or getting a new registration for your motor vehicle)
2. When must I register my motor vehicle in New Jersey?
The State of New Jersey requires that you register your vehicle within 60 days of moving to the State or before your current registration expires, whichever comes first.
3. Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in New Jersey?
You can go to a New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (New Jersey MVC) office near you to register your motor vehicle.
4. How do I register a vehicle in New Jersey?
You will need the following to register your vehicle with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC).
- If you have a lien on the vehicle’s title: submit an application to the lien holder to release the title
- If you leased the vehicle: contact the leasing company so they can register and title your vehicle in New Jersey
You must provide to the New Jersey MVC:
- name of your insurance company and policy number
- your vehicle’s odometer reading
- proof of social security (or exemption)
- current NJ driver license number (if you do not have one, you will get a number once you provide proof of identification)
- application for titling
- completed sales tax stamp on the application
You will have to pay the New Jersey MVC a registration fee
- You will then be notified by the New Jersey MVC when you can return to pick up new plates.
Generally, when you register your vehicle for the first time in the State of New Jersey, you receive a one-year registration for used cars. There is a Four-Year Accelerated Registration program in New Jersey, which requires owners of new passenger vehicles to pay the registration fee in full for the four-year period (or for the term of a lease).
5. Must I carry liability insurance for my registered vehicle in the State of New Jersey?
Yes, all vehicles registered in must be insured by three types of insurance.
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance (PIP), which pays medical expenses if you or other persons covered under your policy are injured in an automobile accident. This is sometimes known as “no fault” insurance, and it pays your medical expenses regardless of whether you were at fault in an motor vehicle accident.
- Liability Insurance, which pays others for damages that you cause if you are the person responsible for causing an accident. This insurance coverage does not cover medical expenses.
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage, which will protect you if you are in an accident with someone who does not have proper insurance coverage.
6. Must I have my motor vehicle inspected in the State of New Jersey?
Yes. Within 14 days of registration, the State of New Jersey requires you to present your vehicle for inspection at a State Inspection Station or a Private Inspection Facility. To have your vehicle inspected, you will need to show a valid driver license, new vehicle registration, and proof of New Jersey insurance.
New Jersey DMV Vehicle Title FAQs
- Does New Jersey require my vehicle to be titled?
- Where do I get a New Jersey certificate of title?
- Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in New Jersey?
- What is the process to apply for a New Jersey certificate of title from the New Jersey DMV (in-state purchased vehicles)?
1. Does New Jersey require my vehicle to be titled?
Yes – if you did not get a title from the car deal, New Jersey requires that you title your vehicle within 10 days of purchase (or you will face a penalty fee).
Also, if you moved to NJ and plan to stay in the State for more than 6 months, New Jersey requires that you get a new driver license, transfer your title (in addition to other requirements). The process you must undertake to transfer your title depends on whether you have a lien on your title.
2. Where do I get a New Jersey certificate of title?
New Jersey offers certificates of title at the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Agency locations throughout the State. You must appear in person to obtain title in New Jersey.
3. Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in New Jersey?
Yes. New Jersey requires that you provide an accurate odometer reading if the reading is inaccurate, the seller must give an estimate of what the actual reading should be).
4. What is the process to apply for a New Jersey certificate of title from the New Jersey DMV (in-state purchased vehicles)?
The State of New Jersey requires you to transfer your vehicle title within 60 days. Here’s a general overview of the process:
- Visit an MVC agency with your original title
- If the vehicle is financed, complete the appropriate application to release the title (lien holder will then have to send the title to the Agency)
- Complete an application for Certificate of Ownership
- Pay transfer title fee
- If you don’t have a lien – keep your receipt to apply for your registration so you can get your plates