home add to favorites social bookmarks e-mail a friend lik to us
 
  What’s on the menu?
dmv information
 

You may also be
interested in:

Dmv Information
Traffic Schools
Drivers Education
Auto Insurance
Records Guide
Auto Guide
Auto Legal Guide
 
Sign up
Rate this
 
  Home > Dmv Information

Dmv Information

georgia
Welcome to our Online Guide for the Georgia DMV, otherwise known as the GA Department of Motor Vehicles.  Here, you will find tons of helpful information about the Georgia DMV.  To get started, please choose an option from our menu now or read below for our Georgia frequently asked questions.  

TOP 3 Georgia Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes #2 Free Credit Report #3 Traffic Schools
  What are you looking for?
georgia dmv information
georgia traffic schools
georgia drivers education
georgia auto insurance
georgia records guide

TOP 5

Georgia DMV Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes
#2 Free Credit Report
#3 Vehicle History Report
#4 Drivers Education
#5 Driver License And Id Guide
georgia auto guide
georgia auto legal guide
   
Didn't find what you were looking for?
SEARCH NOW:
 
 
 

Georgia DMV Frequently Asked Questions

Welcome to GoDMV.com’s Georgia DMV Information Guide.  From this page you can choose from our menu of Georgia online driver services or learn about a specific topic related to Georgia driving.

Our Georgia DMV Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) contain the following sections:

•    Georgia driver license information
•    Georgia vehicle registration
•    Georgia vehicle title issues

Choose from the menu now or read below for our Georgia Driver Frequently Asked Questions.

The DMV, or “Department of Motor Vehicles,” is often the generic term used for the agency that enforced driver license laws in a State.  The agency responsible for administering driver license laws in Georgia is the Georgia Department of Driver Services.  The agency responsible for administering registration and car title laws in Georgia is the Georgia Department of Revenue. 

Georgia DMV Driver’s License FAQs

  1. What agency in Georgia provides driver licenses?
  2. What are the age requirements for getting a Georgia driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?
  3. What are the restrictions for a Georgia driver’s permit or driver’s license?
  4. What documents are necessary to obtain a Georgia driver’s permit or driver’s license?
  5. What tests must I take to obtain a Georgia learner’s permit or driver’s license?
  6. Must I notify the Georgia DMV about a change of address?  What if I want to change my name?


1.    What agency in Georgia provides driver licenses?


In the State of Georgia, the Georgia Department of Driver Services provides driver licenses.

To legally operate a vehicle in Georgia, you are required to obtain a Georgia driver’s license within 30 days of establishing residency.

Georgia considers you a resident if you have a permanent place to live in Georgia and except for infrequent, brief absences, you have been in Georgia for 30 days.

2.    What are the age requirements for getting a Georgia driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)? 

If you are under 18:
  • Learner’s Permit: You must be 15 to obtain a learner’s permit in the State of Georgia, from the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
  • Driver’s License (Class D): You must be 16 and have held a learner’s permit for one year and one day from its issuance.

3.    What are the restrictions for a Georgia driver’s permit or driver’s license?

Learner’s Permit:

With a Georgia Learner’s Permit issued by the Georgia Department of Driver Services, restrictions include:
  • You must not drive without a licensed driver at least 21 years old in the front passenger seat
  • You may not apply for or keep your learner’s permit or driver’s license if you withdraw from school (if under age 18), have a total of 10 unexcused absences or have any conduct infractions
Driver’s License:

With a Georgia Driver’s License (Provisional Class D), restrictions include:
  • For the first 6 months after issuance, you may not drive with passengers who are not members of your immediate family
  • Fort he second 6 months after issuance, you may not drive with more than one passenger under the age of 21 who is not a member of your immediate family
  • After one year from the date of issuance, you may not drive with more than passengers under the age of 21 who are not members of your immediate family
  • You may not drive between 12am and 6am
  • You may not apply for or keep a driver’s license if you withdraw from school (if you are under age 18), have a total of 10 unexcused absences or have any conduct infractions

4.    What documents are necessary to obtain a Georgia driver’s permit or driver’s license?

Learner’s Permit:

To obtain a Georgia Learner’s Permit from the Georgia Department of Driver Services, you must present:
  • An original birth certificate, certificate of birth registration, certified copy of birth certificate with embossed state seal, certified copy of court records (adoption, name changes), certified naturalization records, immigration card or valid passport
  • Your social security number (SSN)
  • Parent or legal guardian signature on the application; if signed by guardian, the legal guardian must bring with him/her a certified copy (with embossed seal from the court) of the court order granting guardianship
  • A Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form signed and notarized by your school (this is valid for 30 days).  Applicants under age 18 who are not enrolled in school must show a GED diploma, high school diploma or attendance form from the local Board of Education if enrolled in an approved home school program
  • If you have an out of state learner’s permit or ID card you must surrender it

Driver License:

To obtain a Georgia driver license from the Georgia Department of Driver Services, you must present:

  • Your social security number
  • Parent legal guardian or authorized driving instructor who goes to the Customer Services Center when you are tested.  Legal guardian must show certified guardianship paper from the court or adoption papers with an embossed court seal.  Driving instructors must have a notarized document, signed by the parent or legal guardian, authorizing the instructor to serve as their agent in the application process
  • Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form signed and notarized from your school (this is valid for 30 days).  Applicants under age 18 who are not enrolled in school must show a GED diploma, high school diploma, or attendance form from the local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program
  • Parent, legal guardian or authorized driving instructor must sign an affidavit at the time of your examination that you have at least 40 hours of on-the-road driver training
  • A Georgia Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) certificate
  • Evidence of compliance with Georgia’s Joshua’s Law requirements, which are effective as of January 1, 2007.  You must show proof that you comply with Joshua’s Law by having completed one of the following methods of Driver Education:
  • Public/private school (30 hours) classroom (virtual or instructor) and parent taught behind the wheel training
  • Public/private school (30 hours) classroom (virtual or instructor) and (6 hours) private behind the wheel training (students also need an additional 40 hours of supervised training experience)
  • Virtual (30 hours) classroom and (6 hours) private behind the wheel training (students will also need an additional 40 hours of supervised driving experience)
  • Virtual (30 hours) classroom and (40 hour) parent taught behind the wheel training

        All students must have 6 hours of supervised driving at night.

5.    What tests must I take to obtain Georgia learner’s permit or driver’s license?

Learners Permit:

To obtain a Georgia learners permit from the Georgia Department of Driver Services, you must pass a vision test and knowledge test.

Driver License:

To obtain a Georgia driver license from the Georgia Department of Driver Services, you must pass a vision test and an on the road test.


Georgia DMV Vehicle Registration FAQs

  1. What is a Georgia motor vehicle registration?
  2. When must I register my motor vehicle in Georgia?
  3. Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in Georgia?
  4. What are the prerequisites for registering a vehicle in Georgia?
  5. Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in Georgia?
  6. Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in Georgia?
  7. Do I have to keep registration documents in my car in Georgia?


1.    What is a Georgia motor vehicle registration?

Georgia requires that you register cars, trucks, trailers, motorcycles, and motor homes and apply for a Georgia certificate of title (when required) within 30 days of establishing residency in Georgia.  Some vehicles are excluded - see the Georgia Department of Revenue website.

2.    When must I register my motor vehicle in Georgia?

Georgia requires that you register cars, trucks, trailers, motorcycles, and motor homes and apply for a Georgia certificate of title (when required) within 30 days of establishing residency in Georgia.

Georgia considers you a resident if you have a permanent place to live in Georgia and except for infrequent, brief absences, you have been in Georgia for 30 days.

3.    Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in Georgia?

To register your vehicle in Georgia, you can go to the Tag Commissioner’s County Office of the Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) in the county in Georgia where you reside.

4.    What are the prerequisites for registering a vehicle in Georgia?

You are generally required to appear in person to register your vehicle in Georgia (some counties in Georgia allow vehicle registration by mail).

You must provide:
  • Valid Georgia driver's license or state-issued identification card when applying in-person.
  • Completed tag and title application
  • Fees and applicable motor vehicle ad valorem taxes
  • Original valid out-of-state title; manufacturer’s statement of origin; or a registration from a non-title state, if your vehicle is a 1986 or newer year model vehicle currently registered in a state or country that does not issue titles for this type and/or year model vehicle, must be submitted. A manufacturer's statement of origin is required for a "new" vehicle that has never been issued a title. If your financial institution. i.e. Bank, credit union, etc., or leasing company is holding your title, submit your registration certificate and applicable fees and taxes along with a completed T-17 Affidavit of Title Held by Lien or Security Interest Holder or Leasing Company form.
  • A completed and signed T-22B Certification of Inspection form must accompany an application for registration of a vehicle that is not eligible for a Georgia title, i.e. A 1963-1985 year model vehicle. This form is also required with applications for Georgia title for 1986 and newer year model vehicles that are supported by a registration from a non-title state or country.
  • Georgia liability insurance before it can be legally operated in this state and before a tag can be issued, renewed, replaced or transferred.
  • Proof that your vehicle has passed an emission's inspection when required for your vehicle in your county of residence.

5.    Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in Georgia?

Yes, Georgia requires that you provide proof of liability insurance to register your vehicle with the State of Georgia.


Georgia DMV Vehicle Title FAQs

  1. Does Georgia require my vehicle to be titled?
  2. Where do I get a Georgia certificate of title?
  3. Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in Georgia?
  4. What documents do I need to show to apply for a Georgia certificate of title from the Georgia DMV?
  5. How long does it take to receive a Georgia vehicle title?


1.    Does Georgia require my vehicle to be titled?

Yes. Generally, Georgia requires that vehicles made in 1986 and newer model years have a Georgia certificate of title. Some vehicles are excluded - see the Georgia Department of Revenue website for a complete list of vehicles that require, and do not require, title.

You must apply for a Georgia title when you register your vehicle at your County Tag County’s Office (unless you already have a Georgia title issued in your name for your vehicle or the vehicle is excluded from the requirement).

When Georgia requires that your vehicle have a Georgia title, the State of Georgia will not let you register your vehicle and obtain a Georgia license plate (tag) or transfer an existing Georgia license plate to the vehicle without a Georgia title already issued in your name or without applying for a title at the time of registration.

2.    Where do I get a Georgia certificate of title?

For individuals, to title your vehicle in Georgia, you can go to the Tag Commissioner’s County Office of the Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) in the county in Georgia where you reside.

For vehicles Purchased from a Dealer & Applications Showing Liens or Security Interest(s), you can apply at the Georgia Department of Revenue’s Motor Vehicle Division or at the Tag office in the county in Georgia where the seller is located, the owner resides, the sale takes place, or where the vehicle is delivered.

3.    What documents do I need to show to apply for a Georgia certificate of title from the Georgia DMV?

You must provide:
  • Valid Georgia driver's license or state-issued identification card when applying in-person.
  • Completed tag and title application
  • Fees and applicable motor vehicle ad valorem taxes
  • Original valid out-of-state title; manufacturer’s statement of origin; or a registration from a non-title state, if your vehicle is a 1986 or newer year model vehicle currently registered in a state or country that does not issue titles for this type and/or year model vehicle, must be submitted. A manufacturer's statement of origin is required for a "new" vehicle that has never been issued a title. If your financial institution. i.e. Bank, credit union, etc., or leasing company is holding your title, submit your registration certificate and applicable fees and taxes along with a completed T-17 Affidavit of Title Held by Lien or Security Interest Holder or Leasing Company form.
  • A completed and signed T-22B Certification of Inspection form must accompany an application for registration of a vehicle that is not eligible for a Georgia title, i.e. A 1963-1985 year model vehicle. This form is also required with applications for Georgia title for 1986 and newer year model vehicles that are supported by a registration from a non-title state or country.
  • Georgia liability insurance before it can be legally operated in this state and before a tag can be issued, renewed, replaced or transferred.
  • Proof that your vehicle has passed an emission's inspection when required for your vehicle in your county of residence.

 

 
  What are you looking for?
 

TOP 5

Georgia DMV Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes
#2 Free Credit Report
#3 Vehicle History Report
#4 Drivers Education
#5 Driver License And Id Guide
 
georgia dmv information
georgia traffic schools
georgia drivers education
georgia auto insurance
georgia records guide
georgia auto guide
georgia auto legal guide
Didn't find what you were looking for?
SEARCH NOW:
 
  Web Design & Development by EuropeDesign Ltd. | Online Marketing by OM Interactive ,LLC.