home add to favorites social bookmarks e-mail a friend lik to us
 
  What’s on the menu?
dmv information
 

You may also be
interested in:

Dmv Information
Traffic Schools
Drivers Education
Auto Insurance
Records Guide
Auto Guide
Auto Legal Guide
 
Sign up
Rate this
 
  Home > Dmv Information

Dmv Information

Florida
Welcome to our Online Guide for the Florida DMV, otherwise known as the FL Department of Motor Vehicles.  Here, you will find tons of helpful information about the Florida DMV.  To get started, please choose an option from our menu now or read below for our Florida frequently asked questions.  

TOP 3 Florida Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes #2 Traffic Schools #3 Free Credit Report
  What are you looking for?
florida dmv information
florida traffic schools
florida drivers education
florida auto insurance
florida records guide

TOP 5

Florida DMV Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes
#2 Free Credit Report
#3 Vehicle History Report
#4 Drivers Education
#5 Driver License And Id Guide
florida auto guide
florida auto legal guide
   
Didn't find what you were looking for?
SEARCH NOW:
 
 
 

Florida DMV Frequently Asked Questions

Welcome to GoDMV.com’s Florida DMV Information Guide.  From this page you can choose from our menu of Florida online driver services or learn about a specific topic related to Florida driving.

Our Florida DMV Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) contain the following sections:

  • Florida driver license information
  • Florida vehicle registration
  • Florida vehicle title issues
Choose from the menu now or read below for our Florida Driver Frequently Asked Questions.

The DMV, or “Department of Motor Vehicles,” is often the generic term used for the agency that enforced driver license laws in a State.  The agency responsible for administering driver license laws in Florida is the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles Division of Driver Licenses.  The agency responsible for administering registration and car title laws in Florida is also the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles.  As you will learn below, application for registration and title in Florida can be done at the local tax collector or license plate agencies throughout Florida.



Florida DMV Driver’s License FAQs


  1. What agency in Florida provides driver licenses?
  2. What are the age requirements for getting a Florida driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?
  3. What are the restrictions for a Florida driver’s permit or driver’s license?
  4. What documents are necessary to obtain a Florida driver’s permit or driver’s license?
  5. What tests must I take to obtain an Florida learner’s permit or driver’s license?
  6. Must I notify the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles about a change of address?  What if I want to change my name?

1.What agency in Florida provides driver licenses?

In Florida, the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles provides driver licenses.

2.What are the age requirements for getting a Florida driver’s permit or driver’s license (noncommercial)?

Florida employs a graduated driver license system for teens under 18.

To obtain a Florida Learner’s License (also known as a learner’s permit or driver’s permit), you must be 15 years of age.

To obtain a Florida Operator’s License (to graduate from a Learner’s License to an Operator’s License), you must be at least 16 years old and have held a learner’s license for at least one year without any traffic convictions.

(The information above applies to Florida learner’s license and driver’s license for U.S. Citizens)

3.What are the restrictions for a Florida driver’s permit or driver’s license?

Because Florida has a graduated driver license system, driving privileges are based on the driver’s age, as follows:

Florida Learner’s License

  • For 3 months after obtaining your Florida Learner’s License, you may only drive during daylight hours.  After 3 months, you may drive until 10 p.m.
  • You are required to have a licensed driver at least 21 years of age in the closest seat to the right of the driver

Florida Operators License:

  • At age 16: You may drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.  At all other times, you are required to have a licensed driver at least 21 years old in the closest seat to the right of the driver, or you must be driving to or from work.
  • At age 17: You may drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.  At all other times, you must have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old in the closest seat to the right of the driver, or you must be driving to or from work.
  • At age 18: You may drive at any time of the day.  There is no licensed passenger requirement.

4.What documents are necessary to obtain a Florida driver’s license (learner’s permit or operator’s license?

To obtain a driver license or I.D. card in Florida, you will be required to provide identification, proof of date of birth and social security number.  See the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles website for primary and secondary documents that you may use satisfy these requirements.

You must provide proof of completion of a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course or a license from another state, country or jurisdiction.

If you are under 18, you will be required to provide a parental consent form, notarized or signed in the presence of the driver license examiner.

Also applicable for  graduation to a Florida Operator’s License from a Learner’s License:

You must provide:

  • A parent or guardian certification (signed and notarized) that you have accumulated at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, of which 10 hours were at night.
  • A Florida Learner’s License or a license from a different jurisdiction.
            
5.What tests must I take to obtain an Florida driver’s license?

To obtain a Florida Driver’s License:

To obtain a Florida driver’s license, in addition to a written road signs and rules test, you must pass a driving test (or present a waiver from an accepted Florida driver education course.  You will also have to pass a hearing and vision test ( indicating 20/40 (or better) vision in each and both eyes, with or without corrective lenses).

6.Must I notify the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles about a change of address?  What if I want to change my name?

If you legally changed your name because you were married or had a name change by court order, you are required to submit the original or a certified copy of your marriage certified or court order.  The Department will not accept photocopies unless they are certified by the issuing authority.

Under Florida law, you must keep your driver license address current within 10 days of moving.




Florida DMV Vehicle Registration FAQs

  1. What is a Florida motor vehicle registration?
  2. When must I register my motor vehicle in Florida?
  3. Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in Florida?
  4. What are the prerequisites for registering a vehicle in Florida?
  5. Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in Florida?
  6. Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in Florida?
  7. Do I have to keep registration documents in my car in Florida?

1.What is a Florida motor vehicle registration?

In Florida, vehicle registration is your evidence that you paid the registration tax and fees on a motor vehicle.  In Florida, motor vehicle registration consists of: (1) a metal license plate, (2) a validation decal, and (3) a registration certificate.

2.When must a I register my motor vehicle in Florida?

As a motor vehicle owner in Florida, you must register a motor vehicle within 10 days of becoming employed, placing children in public school, or establishing residency.  Registering your vehicle will be part of the process for titling your vehicle as well.

3.Where do I go to register my motor vehicle in Florida?

To register your vehicle in person in Florida, go to your local county tax collector’s office or license plate agency.

4.What are the prerequisites for registering a vehicle in Florida?

You must submit the original title and proof of Florida insurance to register your motor vehicle in Florida.

5.Am I required to provide proof of liability insurance to register my vehicle in Florida?

Yes, you must show proof of insurance to register your motor vehicle in Florida.

6.Do I have to keep registration documents in my car in Florida?

Yes, as a motor vehicle operator in Florida, you will be required to have your motor vehicle registration certification or an official copy in your possession or in the vehicle at all times.





Florida DMV Vehicle Title FAQs

  1. Does Florida require my vehicle to be titled?
  2. Where do I get a Florida certificate of title?
  3. Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in Florida?
  4. What documents do I need to show to apply for a Florida certificate of title from the Florida DMV?
  5. How long does it take to receive a Florida vehicle title?

1.Does Florida require my vehicle to be titled?

Yes, Florida requires that most vehicles be titled.  A Florida vehicle title is a certificate that serves as proof of ownership of your vehicle.  You must obtain a vehicle title in Florida when you buy a new motor vehicle, bring one into the state or change ownership.

2.Where do I get an Florida certificate of title?

You can apply for a Florida certificate of title for your vehicle at any of the Florida tax collector or license plate agencies located in counties throughout Florida.

3.Must I disclose my odometer reading in the title process in Florida?

Yes.  You must disclose the miles or kilometers are they are shown on the odometer of your motor vehicle on your Florida title transfer.

4.What documents do I need to show to apply for a Florida certificate of title from the Florida DMV?

To apply for a Florida certificate of title you must show: (a) proof of required insurance coverage, (b) proof of ownership, and a completed and signed Florida title application form.  Also, you must record a lien if the vehicle is financed.

5.How long does it take to receive a Florida vehicle title?

You will be issued a Florida certificate of title for your motor vehicle within five (5) working days of receipt of the required fees and documentation.

 

 
  What are you looking for?
 

TOP 5

Florida DMV Services

_
#1 Free Car Insurance Quotes
#2 Free Credit Report
#3 Vehicle History Report
#4 Drivers Education
#5 Driver License And Id Guide
 
florida dmv information
florida traffic schools
florida drivers education
florida auto insurance
florida records guide
florida auto guide
florida auto legal guide
Didn't find what you were looking for?
SEARCH NOW:
 
  Web Design & Development by EuropeDesign Ltd. | Online Marketing by OM Interactive ,LLC.